Primera Division Argentina 2023: rules, standings, promotions and relegations

Primera Division Argentina 2023: rules, standings, promotions and relegations

Novembre 16, 2022 Off Di FAQSoccer

The Argentine Primera División 2023 – Liga Profesional will be the 133rd edition of the top football league in Argentina. When does the Argentine league start? What’s her name? How does it work? There are many fans of Argentine football looking for information. In this article you will find everything you need to know about the Argentine Prima Division. The championship starts on January 27, 2023 and ends on August 5, 2023. Boca Juniors are the defending champions.

How the Argentine first division works

In this article we explain in detail how the Argentine Primera Division works, that is the top Argentine football league: with the regulation and rules to understand who wins, who relegates and who qualifies for the South American cups. On our site you will also find the guide on how the Champions league works. The Primera División is also the league that has awarded the most national titles in the history of world football.

Argentine Primera Division 2023: standings and teams

Twenty-eight teams will compete in the 2023 Primera Division Argentina: the twenty-six from the 2022 season and two promoted teams from the 2022 Primera Nacional (Belgrano and TBD). Here are all the teams facing each other in the 2023 Argentine League: Argentinos Juniors, Arsenal, Atlético Tucumán, Banfield, Barracas Central, Belgrano, Boca Juniors, Central Córdoba (SdE), Colón, Defensa y Justicia, Estudiantes (LP), Gimnasia y Esgrima (LP), Godoy Cruz, Huracán, Independiente, Lanús, Newell’s Old Boys, Platense, Racing, River Plate, Rosario Central, San Lorenzo, Sarmiento (J), Talleres (C), Tigre, Unión, Vélez Sarsfield.


Argentina Premier League, promotions and qualifications for the South American Cups

The winning team of the 2023 Argentine Primera División with the winner of the 2023 Copa de la Liga Profesional and the winner of the 2023 Copa Argentina win a place in the 2024 Copa Libertadores. The remaining places for the 2024 Copa Libertadores and those for the 2024 Copa Sudamericana will be determined from an aggregated ranking of the 2023 Argentine Primera División first phase tournaments and the 2023 Copa de la Liga Profesional. The top three teams in the aggregated rankings qualify for the Copa Libertadores and the next six qualify for the Copa Sudamericana.


Argentine league relegations, how they work

Who relegates from Argentina’s top division to Argentina’s Second Division? This season, the bottom team in the Argentine Primera Division table will be relegated to the 2024 Primera Nacional. Then two other teams will be relegated, based on coefficients that take into account the points obtained by the teams in the last season and in the previous two seasons. Only seasons in the top flight are considered in the count. The total count is sort of a point average over the past three seasons. The two teams with the worst average are relegated to Primera Nacional.

Who has won the most league titles in Argentina?

The Argentine Football Federation officially recognizes a total of 137 leagues. 17 teams have won the title in the professional era. With 36 titles, River Plate is the team that has won the Argentine soccer championship the most times. Then there is Boca Juniors with 29 league titles.

Here are the teams that have won the most league titles in Argentina:

  • River Plate: 36
  • Boca Juniors: 29
  • Independiente: 14
  • San Lorenzo: 12
  • Vélez Sarsfield: 10
  • Racing Club: 9
  • Newell’s Old Boys: 6
  • Estudiantes de La Plata: 5
  • Rosario Central: 4
  • Argentinos Juniors: 3
  • Ferro Carril Oeste: 2
  • Lanús: 2
  • Arsenal: 1
  • Banfield: 1
  • Chacarita Juniors: 1
  • Huracán: 1
  • Quilmes: 1


Primera Division Argentina standings table LIVE